Home#ElectionsZW#ElectionsZW: Chigumba sets registration dates for 2023 elections

#ElectionsZW: Chigumba sets registration dates for 2023 elections

#ElectionsZW: Chigumba sets registration dates for 2023 elections

Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) Chairperson Priscilla Chigumba says only those who will register to vote from now up to the 15th of August 2023 will be assured of voting in the general elections.

Zimbabweans are expected to hold general elections in 2023 and there have been concerns about voter registration, with a lot of young people failing to register due various reasons.

Some of the reasons include lack of national identification documents, distance to registration centres and lack of adequate information among many others.

However, speaking to the media in Victoria Falls, the ZEC chairperson said the safest period to register for the general elections is between now and 15 August 2023

“I can safely say you asked me about the safest period from today up to 15 August 2023, if you register to vote you will be assured to vote in 2023. You can safely bet it from today up to 15 August, I think that is the safest.

“The safest period is at least three days before the proclamation of the 2023 general election. You can register anytime now up to three days before the proclamation if you can guess the proclamation because none of us knows the date until His Excellency the President exercise his executive right proclaim the election.

‘’To proclaim the election, it is his prerogative to do so the problem is you can guess when he will proclaim,” she added.

Currently, the Electoral Act stipulates that the voter roll is closed two days after the proclamation of elections.

Meanwhile, High Court Judge Justice Munamato Mutevedzi will on Tuesday 25 January 2022 preside over the legal proceedings of an application filed by some prisoners seeking an order to compel the government to allow them to vote during elections.

President Emmerson Mnangagwa won the 2018 general elections which were disputed by his closest rival Nelson Chamisa of the MDC Alliance.

Related Articles

Meet the 17 MPs who voted NO for the Patriotic Bill

Hon. Biti L. T., Hon. Chamisa S., Hon. Chibaya A., Hon. Chidakwa J., Hon. Chidziva H., Hon. Chimina L., Hon. Hamauswa S., Hon. Hwende C., Hon. Matewu C., Hon. Mliswa T. P., Hon. Murai E., Hon. Mutseyami C. P., Hon. Sibanda D. P., Hon. Siband L., Hon. Tekeshe D., Hon. Tembo M., Hon. Tobaiwa J.

Here are Zanu PF MPs who voted for Patriotic Bill

#StopThePatrioticBill AYES 99: Hon Chanda G., Hon Chibagu G., Hon. Chiduwa C., Hon. Chikukwa M.R., Hon Chingosho C.P., Hon. Chinotimba J., Hon. Chipato A., Hon....

Download: National Assembly approves Patriotic Bill

THE MINISTER OF JUSTICE, LEGAL AND PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS (HON. ZIYAMBI): For the purposes of capturing it correctly, I want to read the amendments that...

3 things that will follow after Election Proclamation

Voter Registration for the purposes of the 2023 general closes on the 2nd of June because according to the Electoral Act Section 26A, voter registration closes two days after the President has proclaimed the election, as what happened on Wednesday. Zimbabwe who are yet to register have until tomorrow to do so if they want to vote in the 2023 general election.