ZANU-PF Announces Candidates for Mt Pleasant and Harare East By-Election


ZANU-PF National Political Commissar, Dr. Mike Bimha announced George Masvavave and Kevin Mutimbanyoka as the successful candidates to represent Zanu-PF in the Mt Pleasant constituency and Harare East constituency by elections respectively.

The announcement comes ahead of the nomination court slated for Tuesday 26 March 2024, following ZANU PF’s primary elections held last Saturday.

The seats became vacant after Citizens Coalition for Change legislators Advocate Fadzayi Mahere and Norman Markham who represented Mt Pleasant and Harare East respectively, resigned from parliament after their leader Nelson Chamisa had quit the party.

Chamisa resigned from the Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC), stating that the party had been “contaminated” and “hijacked.”

Mahere has since made it clear that she will not be participating in the by-election. Markham is yet to share his position.

Addressing the media in Harare last Sunday, Bimha said, ” In Harare East constituency Kevin Mutimbanyoka and Mt Pleasant constituency George Mashavave, these two candidates should now proceed to prepare their nomination papers so that they are ready for the nomination court 26 March 2024.

Bimha further urged the various camps competing during the primary elections to unite and rally behind the candidates who emerged victorious in the primary elections.

The elections were supervised by teams led by former minister of Veterans of the Liberation Struggle Affairs Chris Mutsvangwa and Nyanga South Constituency Legislator Super Mandiwadzira.