HomeMembers of ParliamentMutseyami appointed CCC Chief Whip

Mutseyami appointed CCC Chief Whip

Mutseyami appointed CCC Chief Whip

Nelson Chamisa has appointed Dangamvura-Chikanga legislator Prosper Mutseyami to the party’s Chief Whip in the National Assembly.

Mutseyami was Chief Whip of the MDC Alliance before he was recalled from Parliament by Douglas Mwonzora . He had refused to acknowledge him as leader of the party.

The appointment of Mutseyami means there are now three Chief Whips in the National Assembly. This is to reflect the mix of the political parties.

The Chief Whips are Pupurai Togarepi of Zanu PF, David Tekeshe of MDC Alliance, and now Prosper Mutseyami of Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC).

Speaker of the National Assembly Jacob Mudenda made the announcement on Tuesday.

‘’I also have to inform the House that Honourable Prosper Chapfiwa Mutseyami has been appointed Chief Whip by the Citizen Coalition for Change Party and will be deputised by Hon. Sichelesile Mahlangu.

‘’By virtue of his appointment as Chief Whip, Honourable Mutseyami becomes a member of the Committee of Standing Rules and Orders,’’ he said.

The Committee of Standing Rules and Orders is the highest decision-making committee for Parliament in Zimbabwe.

During the by-elections in March this year, Mutseyami polled 13 132 against Esau Mupfumi’s 6 304. Other candidates, musician Hosiah Chipanga polling 209, while Anesu Zaranyika got a measly 57 votes.

Mutseyami appointed CCC Chief Whip

Related Articles

Video: Nelson Chamisa needs US$244K to field candidates in all seats

Video: Nelson Chamisa needs US$244K to field candidates in all seats #ElectionsZW https://youtu.be/sVa2Y065b6w

The constitution turns 10 years, but Zimbabweans still looking for constitutionalism

It is hardly surprising that the 10th anniversary of the 2013 Constitution is being celebrated when the country is witnessing the erosion of constitutionalism and the acceleration of authoritarian consolidation in Zimbabwe.

Download: Voter Inspection Centres List

Those who registered, on or before 28 April 2023, are encouraged to inspect the voters` roll at their ordinary polling stations which have been designated as inspection centres for purposes of this voters roll inspection exercise. Note, your name will appear only at that inspection centre if that centre is your designated polling station. Registrants who registered up to the 28th of April 2023 can also use the USSD code *265# for Netone and Econet subscribers to inspect their details using their mobile phones. #ElectionsZW

Here is why it is impossible for Mnangagwa to proclaim elections in May

Section (157.5) says “After an election has been called, no change to the Electoral Law or to any other law relating to elections has effect for the purpose of that election.”