Home#ElectionsZWI will not be running for office again says Chiposi

I will not be running for office again says Chiposi

I will not be running for office again says Chiposi

Former MDC Alliance candidate for the Kambuzuma Constituency in the March 26 by-election Fungai Chiposi says he is done contesting for office.

Chiposi lost Citizens Coalition for Change Candidate Willias Madzimure before dumping his party.

According to Chiposi, he is now a member of CCC which is led by Nelson Chamisa.

However, writing on his Twitter handle, Chiposi said he will be minding his businesses. He says he has failed to convince people to vote for him.

‘’I have run for office twice. It is an emotionally and financially draining exercise. I know I can give more to my community than any other MP or Councillor but the people believe otherwise.

‘’I will not be running again. I will mind my own business and attend to my family,’’ he said.

It is not yet clear if Chiposi is running away from the exorbitant nomination fees that were gazetted by the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) or maybe he sees no prospects of being chosen to represent CCC.

Chiposi’s preferred seat Kambuzuma is held by Willias Madzimure, a senior member of Tendai Biti-led People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

PDP is one of the parties that came together to form CCC. Madzimure was allocated the seat during the time of the MDC Alliance when about eight political parties joined hands to fight Zanu PF in the 2018 general election.

I will not be running for office again says Chiposi

Related Articles

Meet the 17 MPs who voted NO for the Patriotic Bill

Hon. Biti L. T., Hon. Chamisa S., Hon. Chibaya A., Hon. Chidakwa J., Hon. Chidziva H., Hon. Chimina L., Hon. Hamauswa S., Hon. Hwende C., Hon. Matewu C., Hon. Mliswa T. P., Hon. Murai E., Hon. Mutseyami C. P., Hon. Sibanda D. P., Hon. Siband L., Hon. Tekeshe D., Hon. Tembo M., Hon. Tobaiwa J.

Here are Zanu PF MPs who voted for Patriotic Bill

#StopThePatrioticBill AYES 99: Hon Chanda G., Hon Chibagu G., Hon. Chiduwa C., Hon. Chikukwa M.R., Hon Chingosho C.P., Hon. Chinotimba J., Hon. Chipato A., Hon....

Download: National Assembly approves Patriotic Bill

THE MINISTER OF JUSTICE, LEGAL AND PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS (HON. ZIYAMBI): For the purposes of capturing it correctly, I want to read the amendments that...

3 things that will follow after Election Proclamation

Voter Registration for the purposes of the 2023 general closes on the 2nd of June because according to the Electoral Act Section 26A, voter registration closes two days after the President has proclaimed the election, as what happened on Wednesday. Zimbabwe who are yet to register have until tomorrow to do so if they want to vote in the 2023 general election.