HomeElectionsSupreme Court dismisses Rukanda’s appeal against Biti Parly return

Supreme Court dismisses Rukanda’s appeal against Biti Parly return

Supreme Court dismisses Rukanda’s appeal against Biti Parly return

Supreme Court of Zimbabwe has dismissed an appeal by Benjamin Rukanda on Tendai Biti and others reinstatement to Parliament.

The High Court had ruled that Rukanda had no authority to recall Biti and others from Parliament because he was not the secretary-general of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

However, Rukanda had tried to appeal the decision of the court.

In a letter dated 16 December 2021 (Referenced SC 345/21), the Supreme Court advised Rukanda that his appeal did not comply with Rule 55(5) of the Supreme Court.

The Supreme Court letter dismissing Benjamin Rukanda’s appeal

“Reference is made to the Notice of Appeal you filed on the 24 September 2021. It is noted that you did not comply with Rule 55 (5) of the Supreme Court rules (2018) with regards to payment of security costs.

‘’In terms of the Sub-rule (6) of rule 55 of the aforementioned rules, the appeal is regarded as abandoned and is hereby dismissed,” read the letter.

Besides Biti, the other PDP legislators that had been recalled by Rukanda are Willias Madzimure (Kambuzuma), Settlement Chikwinya (Mbizo), Kucaca Ivumile Phulu (Nkulumane), Sichelesile Mahlangu (Pumula) and Regai Tsunga (Mutasa South).

It however remains to be seen how the matter will proceed as President Emmerson Mnangagwa has also included the seats for by-elections.

The by-elections will be held on the 26th of March this year.

PDP, a party that was led by Tendai Biti split owing to differences over the issue of joining the MDC Alliance in 2017.

The other faction went with Biti, while another remained with Lucia Matibenga where Rukanda claims to be the secretary-general.

Lucia Matibenga and her faction joined hands with Joice Mujuru and contested the 2018 general elections under the Rainbow Coalition.

It remains to be seen if the legislators will be allowed back in Parliament in February when it resumes its sittings.

Supreme Court dismisses Rukanda’s appeal against Biti Parly return

Related Articles

Meet the 17 MPs who voted NO for the Patriotic Bill

Hon. Biti L. T., Hon. Chamisa S., Hon. Chibaya A., Hon. Chidakwa J., Hon. Chidziva H., Hon. Chimina L., Hon. Hamauswa S., Hon. Hwende C., Hon. Matewu C., Hon. Mliswa T. P., Hon. Murai E., Hon. Mutseyami C. P., Hon. Sibanda D. P., Hon. Siband L., Hon. Tekeshe D., Hon. Tembo M., Hon. Tobaiwa J.

Here are Zanu PF MPs who voted for Patriotic Bill

#StopThePatrioticBill AYES 99: Hon Chanda G., Hon Chibagu G., Hon. Chiduwa C., Hon. Chikukwa M.R., Hon Chingosho C.P., Hon. Chinotimba J., Hon. Chipato A., Hon....

Download: National Assembly approves Patriotic Bill

THE MINISTER OF JUSTICE, LEGAL AND PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS (HON. ZIYAMBI): For the purposes of capturing it correctly, I want to read the amendments that...

3 things that will follow after Election Proclamation

Voter Registration for the purposes of the 2023 general closes on the 2nd of June because according to the Electoral Act Section 26A, voter registration closes two days after the President has proclaimed the election, as what happened on Wednesday. Zimbabwe who are yet to register have until tomorrow to do so if they want to vote in the 2023 general election.