HomeNewsIt’s a lie, I was never allocated a POLAD vehicle, says Munyanduri

It’s a lie, I was never allocated a POLAD vehicle, says Munyanduri

It’s a lie, I was never allocated a POLAD vehicle, says Munyanduri

New Patriotic Front (NPF) leader Tendai Peter Munyanduri has dismissed claims that he was dispossessed of a vehicle he received from the Political Actors Dialogue (POLAD).

Principals of political parties that are in POLAD, were given Isuzu D-Maxx vehicles by President Emmerson Mnangagwa last year.

The vehicles are to help them move around as they do POLAD business. Commentators view the vehicles as tokens of appeasement.

However, one of the principals Tendai Munyanduri who was reported to have been booted out of POLAD by the media has cleared the air that he has never been notified of the expulsion.

Munyanduri has also disputed the fact that he was dispossessed of his POLAD vehicle. The self-styled politician highlighted that he was never issued a vehicle from POLAD.

He also revealed that he has not been invited to POLAD meetings in the past two and half years.

‘’I have not been officially notified of the expulsion except that for the past two and half years, I have not been invited to POLAD meetings.

‘’I have never been issued with a POLAD vehicle in the first place and it’s incorrect that my POLAD vehicle was dispossessed,’’ he said.

The NPF leader however revealed that his former vice president is the one who got the vehicle and went on to form his political party after.

‘’Mr. Welcome Shumba then my vice president and now president of Africa First Movement (AFM) party was the one who was allocated a POLAD vehicle. I strongly believe in dialogue with all political participants and will attend any meeting if invited,’’ he said.

POLAD is the brainchild of President Emmerson Mnangagwa intended to create an avenue for dialogue with other political parties.

However, the forum got a vote of no confidence when then MDC Alliance leader Nelson Chamisa refused to be part of it.

This was also followed by several other political parties that contested the Presidential elections.

According to Freezim Congress leader Joseph Makamba Busha, POLAD is nothing but a waste of time and resources.

He said people currently in POLAD have no clue on how to turn around the country.

Busha added that he would prefer to have a one-on-one meeting with President Mnangagwa so that he can give him ideas on what needs to be done.

The businessman-cum politician has however not had joy in his quest for a meeting with Mnangagwa who is on record that any dialogue should be through POLAD.

It’s a lie, I was never allocated a POLAD vehicle, says Munyanduri

Related Articles

Current Electoral System in Zimbabwe on Persons with Disability

In Zimbabwe visual impaired persons are assisted in voting. There is no braille ballot paper provision for use by persons who are able to read braille thus compromising the secrecy of their vote

Here is what Senator Phugeni said about Patriotic Bill

art of the clauses in the Bill said that even if it is proven beyond a reasonable doubt that the speech or the contribution of the accused person did not cause sanctions in this country, it says that is not defence enough or that does not constitute a defence. What type of a law is that? What type of a law that shifts the burden of proof to an accused person? The burden of proof beyond reasonable doubt must always rest with the accuser. If it is proven beyond reasonable doubt that whatever I say did not bring sanctions to anyone or the country, how can that not be defence?

Magistrates who will try cases of politically motivated violence appointed

Lazini Ncube Learnmore Mapiye Dennis Mangosi Ruth Moyo Yeukai Dzuda Priviledge Rangarirai Gakanje Shotgame Musaiwona Evidence Sheunesu Matova Christina Nyandoro

Download: Chief Justice Malaba appoints Judges of the Electoral Court

LIST OF ELECTORAL COURT JUDGES 1. Hon. Maria Dube JP. 2. Hon. Garainesu Mawadze J. 3. Hon. Happias Zhou J. 4. Hon. Joseph Mafusire J. 5. Hon. David Mangota J. 6. Hon. Maxwell M.Takuva J. 7. Hon. Amy S. Tsanga J. 8. Hon Nokuthula Moyo J. 9. Hon. Esther Muremba J. 10. Hon. Davison Moses Foroma J. 11. Hon. Tawanda Chitapi J. 12. Hon. Nyaradzo P. Munangati-Manongwa J.