HomeMembers of ParliamentMore crimes have emerged for Wadyajena says Mudenda

More crimes have emerged for Wadyajena says Mudenda

More crimes have emerged for Wadyajena says Mudenda

Speaker of the National Assembly Jacob Mudenda has told legislators that the Zimbabwe Anti-Corruption Commission (ZACC) is currently compiling more charges for Gokwe-Nembudziya legislator Justice Wadyajena.

Wadyajena was arrested for allegedly defrauding Cottco of about US$5 million.

He is currently on bail, waiting for trial.

However, responding to a question from Norton legislator Temba Mliswa who wanted to know if Parliament will set up a Privileges Committee on Wadyajena, Mudenda said he was waiting for ZACC to finish the docket first.

‘’I have been in touch with ZACC.  I wanted to know whether indeed there is a docket.  At law, the docket must be there which raises charges against the accused. 

‘’As we speak now before I came here, the Honourable Justice Matandamoyo indicated to me that they are finalising the document because there are other offences that have emerged that involve external stakeholders, and these are being asked to expedite to give them information.

‘’So, the docket is not ready for me and the Committee on Standing Rules and Orders, on the advice of Legal Counsel to Parliament, on the way forward.

‘’That should be clear by 8th September next week. Once the docket is ready and on the point of probabilities, then we proceed in terms of our Standing Orders accordingly. So, nothing will be swept under the carpet at all,’’ he said.

Meanwhile, Wadyajena has had his bail conditions relaxed by the Magistrates Court with the release of his passport. Wadyajena is expected to travel abroad on Parliament business.

Related Articles

Mnangagwa’s Election Proclamation Consequences: Youths the biggest loser

"So how can these people be constitutionally elected? The simple answer is that they can’t, but if they are not elected then the National Assembly and all provincial and metropolitan councils will not be properly constituted," said Veritas.

Meet the 17 MPs who voted NO for the Patriotic Bill

Hon. Biti L. T., Hon. Chamisa S., Hon. Chibaya A., Hon. Chidakwa J., Hon. Chidziva H., Hon. Chimina L., Hon. Hamauswa S., Hon. Hwende C., Hon. Matewu C., Hon. Mliswa T. P., Hon. Murai E., Hon. Mutseyami C. P., Hon. Sibanda D. P., Hon. Siband L., Hon. Tekeshe D., Hon. Tembo M., Hon. Tobaiwa J.

Here are Zanu PF MPs who voted for Patriotic Bill

#StopThePatrioticBill AYES 99: Hon Chanda G., Hon Chibagu G., Hon. Chiduwa C., Hon. Chikukwa M.R., Hon Chingosho C.P., Hon. Chinotimba J., Hon. Chipato A., Hon....

Download: National Assembly approves Patriotic Bill

THE MINISTER OF JUSTICE, LEGAL AND PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS (HON. ZIYAMBI): For the purposes of capturing it correctly, I want to read the amendments that...